European Cinema kicks off its 9th Festival in Sudan

European Cinema kicks off its 9th Festival in Sudan

11-16-2017, 01:20 AM


Post: #1
Title: European Cinema kicks off its 9th Festival in Sudan
Author: SudaneseOnline News
Date: 11-16-2017, 01:20 AM

00:20 AM November, 15 2017

Sudanese Online
SudaneseOnline News-Khartoum Sudan
My Library
Short URL

السينما الأوروبية تطلق مهرجانها التاسع في السودان

Khartoum 15 November 2017

The Delegation of the European Union to Sudan announced the beginning of the 9th European Film Festival from 20- 30 November 2017 in Khartoum. The festival brings 15 films from 14 European countries: Austria, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom and the European Union.

The screenings will take place daily between 20 and 30 November at 0700 pm at five venues, namely the Goethe-Institut, the British Council, the Institut Francais, the Embassy of Netherlands and Al Faisal Cultural Centre.

The Delegation of the European Union announced that the 2017 festival is organized with the local Sudanese partners, namely Ministries of Culture and Foreign Affairs, CTC Group, Capital Radio 91.6 and Acropole Hotel.

The European Film Festival is the oldest international film festival and considered one of the major cinematic events in Sudan. The festival has shown more than 100 films and has been attended by 130,000 Sudanese and international audience.

In 2017, the festival will showcases six drama, two documentaries, two comedy, four animations and family movies. All the movies which respect the local customs of Sudan has been selected to show the diversity of rich and highly artistic European films.

The films presented at the 9th film festival were shown, nominated or won awards in international film festivals. The films have been selected to reflect the different periods in Europe from 1985 to 2016. The festival will show films for internationally known directors like Radek Bajar from Czech Republic, Giuseppe Tornatore from Italy, Roar Uthaug from Norway, Doru Nitescu from Romania, Peter Middleton and James Spinney from the United Kingdom, Juraj Jakubisko from Slovakia, Cyril Dion and Melanie Laurent from France, Anders Helgeson and Karin at Klintberg from Sweden, Enrique Gato from Spain, Gerado Olivares and Otmar Penzer from Austria, Dennis Bots from Netherlands, Percy Adlon from Germany, Pedro Varela from Portugal and Claude Barras from Switzerland.