Latest News From Sudan
Please feel free to send us your Press Release to [email protected]

Salva Kiir forms SPLM’s leadership bodies

2/25/2006 1:09pm

Sat, Feb 25, 2006 19:36 UT
Salva Kiir forms SPLM’s leadership bodies

Saturday 25 February 2006.
Feb 24, 2006 (KHARTOUM) — The First Vice-President, President of the Southern Sudan government, and Chairman of Sudan People’s Liberation Movement (SPLM) Salva Kiir Mayardit, has issued two decrees, to form the SPLM Interim Political Bureau, and the SPLM Interim Executive Bureau.

Salva Kiir
The SPLM Interim Political Bureau includes 23 members, and the SPLM Interim Executive Bureau includes 57 members. Salva Kiir will head the two bureaus, while Pagan Amun will be their secretary general.
The decrees appointed five persons in the interim secretariat, eight in the Southern Sudan secretariat and twelve persons in the southern Sudan interim secretariat. The secretariat of Southern Kordofan State and Bleu Nile State are annexed to the South.
The SPLM political bureau will begin soon its activities at the SPLM central office in Khartoum.
The Chairman of the SPLM northern sector Abdelaziz al-Hilo, is charged to appoint the membership of his sector.
The two organs — SPLM interim political bureau and SPLM interim executive bureau - are instructed to prepare the SPLM second general conference, and to build up the political structure, but no date has been fixed for the holding of the conference.
By these decrees, Salav Kiir renews the mandate of the Leadership Council dissolved by the late John Garang. He also, re-managed its structures and changed the name.
In July 2005, Garang had dissolved the SPLM Leadership Council. But Salva Kiir, after his election as Chairman of the SPLM in New Site, rehabilitated the Leadership Council to transform the SPLM to a political party.
Three women are appointed in the SPLM interim political bureau: Rebecca de Mabior minister of transport in the government of Southern Sudan, Tabita Sokaya, Federal minister of health, and Awut Deng presidential advisor of the president of GOSS.
Also, some historical leaders of the SPLM are appointed in the political bureau: Salva Kiir chairman, Pagan Amun, Riek Machar, Kwal Manyang, Niahl Deng Niahl Samuel Abujon, Malik Agar, Mansour Khalid, Deng Alor, Abdelaziz al-Hilo, Yassir Arman and Lam Akol.
SPLM interim executive bureau includes six women, all the members of the Political Bureau and some 34 members among them: Harun Ron Lual, presidential advisor at the presidency of the republic, Mr. Gier Cuang Aluong minister of Telecommunications & Postal Services (GOSS) and David Deng Athorbei minister of Labour, Public Service & Human Resource Development (GOSS).(ST)

اقرا اخر الاخبار السودانية على سودانيز اون لاين For more Sudan News

For More Articles and Analysies For more Press Releases
This report does not necessarily reflect the views of Sudanese

| Sudanese Songs | | Arabic News | Arabic Forum| | | | PC&Internet Forum| Press Releases

Home| Sudanese Directory | Tell a friend| Articles and Analysies | News | English Forum

Copyright 2000-2006
Sudan IT Inc All rights reserved