Latest News
Sudanese Delegation Scouts for Support
By [unknown placeholder $article.art_field1$]
Nov 8, 2008 - 8:48:10 AM

Sudanese Delegation Scouts for Support

WINDHOEK – A delegation from Southern Sudan visited Namibia as part of its Southern African Development Community (SADC) tour to sensitise the region about Southern Sudan’s 2011 referendum and Comprehensive Peace Agreement.

Head of the delegation and undersecretary in Southern Sudan’s ministry of regional cooperation, Dr Cirino Ofuho, said the delegation was dispatched by Southern Sudan’s chairman, General Salva Kiir Mayardit, to get the region’s support on any decision that the Southern Sudanese people take during the 2011 referendum.

General Salva Kiir Mayardit plans to visit the SADC region early next year, as part of the support seeking mission.

A referendum is scheduled for Southern Sudan in 2011 on whether to remain in the greater Sudan or to become an independent nation.

“We want the region to be enlightened about the referendum and support the outcome, there’s most likely to be discrepancies,” Ofuho said.

Ofuho added that the Sudanese people wanted to get political solidarity from the people of the southern African region.

He stated that Sudan and Namibia have a long-standing relationship, hence their decision to further strengthen ties and get support.

“Namibia and Sudan are identical in terms of the history and have historical links,” Ofuho added.

Ofuho and his delegation met Prime Minister Nahas Angula to whom he gave a letter from his leader as well as the Foreign Affairs Minister, Marco Hausiku.
Ofuho and his delegation, which also met with some members of the Swapo Party and its youth league, said the SPLM wants to create cooperation between Swapo and themselves.

The delegation has already visited the Seychelles and South Africa and is on its way to Botswana, Zimbabwe, Zambia and Madagascar.

Southern Sudan is a region of Sudan, comprising 10 of that country’s states. The Sudanese government agreed to give autonomy to the region in the Comprehensive Peace Agreement (CPA) [1] signed on January 9, 2005 in Naivasha, Kenya, with the Sudanese People’s Liberation Movement (SPLM), tentatively bringing an end to the Second Sudanese Civil War 1983-2005.
Southern Sudan borders Ethiopia to the east, Kenya, Uganda, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the south, and the Central African Republic to the west.

To the north lies the predominantly Arab and Muslim region directly under the control of the central government, with its capital at Khartoum.
It includes the vast swamp region of the Sudd formed by the White Nile, called the Bahr el Jebel.

Southern Sudan, also known as New Sudan, has nearly all of its administrative offices in Juba, the capital, and the city with the largest population.

© Copyright by